Summer Llama Hop


It’s time for another “Llama Hop!”  Some of my friends and I will be showing you projects made from products from the new Stampin’ Up!® annual catalog.

If you’re just starting the hop, you’re in luck – because this is the first official stop!  But you can start anywhere and go all the way through the hop.  You can return to the Llama home page here, or by clicking the “llama home” button.

Click here to return to the Llama Hop home page.

If you started the hop in the middle, you arrived here from Heather Wilbur’s blog.  Isn’t she amazing?  I love her style!

My favorite style is vintage, and I also enjoy creating my own backgrounds, so the Clockworks stamp set was one of the first that I added to my wish list.

Click on photo to view larger image.

I think I used every stamp from the Clockworks set on this card!  I stamped the background stamps multiple times in Island Indigo, Soft Suede and Riding Hood Red.  The little gears were stamped with Versamark, then embossed with pewter embossing powder.

For the pocket watch, I stamped all the pieces separately and gold embossed them.  After cutting them out and putting them together with a gold brad, I covered the face of the clock with Crystal Effects so it would look like the crystal cover on a watch.  The panel under the watch is from the Fan Fair designer series paper.  I just cut out one image and added it to the card.  It’s my favorite paper this year.

To finish this one off, I added a little linen thread and an antique brad.  The inside is another piece of the designer paper, and it says, “Time will never stand still, and those moments that bring us such joy become memories in an instant.” (Joshua Atticks)  I think this will be a birthday card for my older brother.

Click on photo to view larger image.


This one also uses pieces from the Fan Fair paper (the measuring tape and the “destination” sentiment).  The large image and little stamps are from the Postage Due set.  I inked all the stamps with markers, using the colors in the designer series paper (Crumb Cake, Basic Gray, Island Indigo, More Mustard. Pink Pirouette is also in the paper, but I didn’t use that on this card.)  The “postage” stamps were punched with the 1″ square punch, then layered on Crumb Cake punched with the postage stamp punch.

Click on photo to view larger image.


I saw a picture in our local dollar store that I liked, so I decided to use it as a guide for this one.  The stamps I used were Just Believe, Layered Labels, Creative Elements and Papaya Collage.  I just masked and sponged ink on the mat.  Some images were stamped after I sponged, and others (like the Soft Suede rectangle at the bottom) were embossed between colors.  (I sponged Crumb Cake first, then embossed the stamped image with clear powder, then sponged Soft Suede over the top.)

My favorite part of this is the frame.  It was a shiny black when I bought it, but I wanted it to look old, so I rubbed on some gesso.  Then I sponged on some ink and spritzed with some Log Cabin smooch spritz.   It turned out better than I had hoped!

That’s it for me!  I know you’ll enjoy every blog on the tour.  You next stop is Linda Wicks’ Nutty for Stampin’ blog.  Linda is incredibly talented, and her projects always leave me with my jaw dropped.  Prepare to be dazzled!

Click here to go to the next stop on the blog hop.

Click here to go back to the previous blog on the hop.

About buffycooper

Among other things, I am a musician who enjoys papercrafting (specifically with rubber stamps), a Stampin' Up!® demonstrator, Christian, wife and mom to two great boys.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Summer Llama Hop

  1. Linda says:

    Sorry, Buffy, but this time around I was struggling to get my mojo going. You may want to edit that last sentence! Love all your projects, as usual. Postage Due was on my “maybe” list, but you’re pushing it onto “gotta have”. Way to enable!

    Like

  2. Joanne says:

    Hi Buffy! I’m not really good at vintage, but your creations are inspiring. I have the Clockworks set on my “really want it” list but the Postage Due one caught my eye but wasn’t on my list – until now! Love the way you got all the color into the collage stamp. And I definitely have to get some of that Fan Fair paper!

    Like

  3. Buffy, vintage is on the top of my favorite “to dos”. Unfortunately most of my customers don’t care for it so I do it for myself. Absolutely love the Postage Due card and will now be ordering that set as well. 32 more days til convention!

    Like

  4. Marsha Reed says:

    Great cards, Buffy.

    Like

  5. I love vintage also and I am lucky that my customers do to. Love all of your projects.

    Like

  6. Diane Oliver says:

    Buffy great card! Love your watch with the crystal effects and the others are just goreous.
    Enjoying the HOP and so sorry I missed it Hugs

    Like

  7. KatheD says:

    Lovely projects, as always, Buffy; I can see that Fan Fair will soon be at the top of my wish list. I especially love the pocket watch with its crystal face! Thanks for the close-up showing those of us nerdy types that don’t like the catalog image that the stamped image *does* have the right numbering.

    Like

  8. Pingback: The Open Sea | Stamping with Buffy

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.